Who are the stakeholders in ITIL?

Who are the stakeholders in ITIL?

As ITIL defines this term, a stakeholder is a person who has an interest in an organization, project, IT service and so on.

All stakeholders can be grouped to the list of 4 key stakeholders in IT management as follows:

  1. Service provider
  2. Customer
  3. End User
  4. Supplier

Service provider - an organization which provides IT support services to internal and external customers. There are 3 types of service providers: internal, shared, external. Shared service providers deliver IT services to multiple units in the same organization.

Customer - Someone who buys goods or Services. The Customer of an IT Service Provider is the person or group who defines and agrees to the Service Level Targets. The term Customers is also sometimes informally used to mean Users, for example "this is a Customer focused Organization".

End user - anyone who is entitled to one or more IT services.

Supplier - an entity that supplies goods and services to another organization. This entity is part of the supply chain of a business, which may provide the bulk of the value contained within its products